I do appreciate all the compliments on the photos of the kids. I really love taking pictures in general, and of them especially. But it takes time, patience, and tools (a post which is forthcoming, I swear!), and even still, I may not get the exact shot I want(ed).

So here, I take you through a not-atypical series of events when shooting a “staged” picture of the kiddos.

First of all, I get everything set up: maybe a light if the lighting is poor in the house, a baby for focusing/distance testing with the camera/tripod…

DSC_7542

Then we set up babies for more distance/zoom testing…

DSC_7459

And try to get them to look at the camera. Ish…

DSC_7455

Before they fall over…

DSC_7472

Or start crying…

DSC_7526

Then I adjust the lighting in the room, color balance and aperture setting on the camera…

DSC_7514

Just before someone falls over again…

DSC_7656

So now it’s time to readjust babies…

DSC_7457

Or try a different position altogether, let’s see if this one works…

DSC_7483

Until someone starts holding someone’s head down…

DSC_7503

Or someone falls over again…

DSC_7486

And then I think I get a decent picture, until I notice the snot running out of Carpet’s nose…

DSC_7701

Or I take one I really like, until I had moved the camera and inadvertently cut off some craniums…

DSC_7512

And after I don’t even know how many pictures get taken, and with now fussy babies (this shoot was after school and dangerously close to bed time), we just color adjust an awkwardly positioned, but relatively unblurry and smiling picture of the RJBs in their Baptism outfits, three days post-Baptism, and antique it a bit.

DSC_7668

Or use another one that wasn’t too bad, and make it black and white…

DSC_7522_3

But in the end, even without the Perfect Picture, we have a whole series of photos to offer us up some giggles during those after-we-put-the-babies-to-sleep-hours, but still-can’t-get-enough-of-’em-so-we-look-at-pictures-on-iPhoto. We like them a little bit.

