The Beloved and I had a challenging day today, muddling through some misinterpretations of communications.  Throughout it, we were firm in our commitment to keep our eyes on the big picture, try not to get wrapped up in disproportionate emotions, and agree to talk as rational, loving partners at the end of the day.  And I know what you’re thinking: trying to be healthy functional adults is so, like, BORING.   

But that’s exactly what we did.  

And the conversation ended exactly as a day of swirling hurt feelings in your mouth should end – in laughter.

But before I go any further, let me just say – it’s usually me jacking up the cliches.  

So with her hand reaching across the table for mine, over a shared burrito bowl from Chipotle, a deep blue sincerity in her eyes, all seriousness and deliberate intention in her voice, the Beloved said:

“What doesn’t make us stronger, will kill us.”

Oops. 

