Dear RaJenBabies,

Every week I say I can’t believe that we’re another week along and here I am repeating myself: I cannot believe we’re at 22 weeks!  

It is absolutely amazing to me.Matou read to us last night about all the things going on inside my belly around this week.  Like your eyebrows and eyelashes are fully formed.  And the hair on your head continues to grow.  And the angels of heaven have finally finished painting finger prints on your tiny little tips.  

Matou says that you’re nearly 1lb each now and that you’re about twelve inches in length.  EACH.  That’s two feet of babies curled up on the inside of my belly.  No wonder it’s tight.  
Belly22w0d
New Year’s BellyShot: 22w0d and growing.

It also said that you are using up my calcium, which is probably why I can easily go through a gallon of milk every few days.  One large coffee mug’s worth at a time.  After it’s been in the freezer for 10 minutes.  My favorite mix-ins are Quaker Oat Squares, Raisin Bran, and Mother’s Toasted Oat Bran cereals.  And that’s me being flexible.  I can only imagine how specific you’ll be about your snacks.

I feel you move all the time now.  Several times a day.  And sometimes at night.  I enjoy playing with you, rubbing my belly where you are curled up, singing songs to you.  Matou kisses you good morning and good night every day.  Sometimes, I put her hand to where you are moving around and you give her a good kick.   

We picked out your cribs last weekend.  And we pretty much finished your birthday party wish list.  I’m sad to say that we won’t be getting you our first choice car seats.  And they weren’t first choice just because they had orange in them (my favorite color).  I promise.  No, we have to pick another one because there is no such stroller that will fit/hold two of those car seats.  But we promise to get you safe ones, okay? 

We’re in the middle of a long list of things-to-do in preparation for your arrivals.  We got a few of those things done over the holiday, but there’s still more to do.  Baby steps. You know how that is. 

We’re in 2008 now, the year you will both be born.  I’m getting pretty big and my skin is pretty tight.  I’m not sure where the extra stretchiness will come from, but God is miraculously creative and I’m sure God will make it just so when the time is needed.  God is neat like that, does all kinds of wondrous things through us and for us.  We can’t wait to show you things we’ve learned about like Love and Rainbows and how cat’s have a purr box and how dogs have this funny tickle spot on their bellies.

Loving you from the outside,
Mommy & Matou 

