I had lunch today with “my guys” – a group of 6 men I work with on a day-to-day basis. 

I was about to take a spoonful of my caldo de pollo (chicken soup) when one of them asks “So what is your weight gain goal?”

“I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.  What?” I ask.  Having heard him, but giving him an opportunity to forget his question or say nevermind.

And he has the audacity to repeat “What is your weight gain goal, like 20 pounds or something?”

“Yes”, I say, “if I was an anorexic hollywood star.  I’m having twins, remember?”

I mean, I get that people will want to touch your belly and ask when you are due and how much weight have you gained so far.  But isn’t there an unwritten rule that a man is NEVER allowed to ask a woman about her weight, particularly a man that is about 5′ 8″ and 145 pounds?

