Way back on this day, I posted a picture (see also, below) of what we hoped and planned would become the nursery. 

DSC_0023.JPG

And, well, at 6 weeks along, we’re hoping and praying everything continues to look good gestationally so that that dream will come to fruition. 

Speaking of gestation, the ultrasound revealed that our baby is tracking at 5 weeks 6 days with a strong little heartbeat of 111.  We ALSO saw how my fibroid is doing, and let’s just say, it’s lovin’ the hormone buffet.  It’s now the size of a raquetball and will continue to get bigger.  It’s location is on the outside and back side of my uterus, so from the beginning, our doctor did not see it as an issue and just felt like it would be something we’d monitor once pregnant.  And the OTHER thing we saw on the monitor was our SECOND baby, tracking at 5 weeks 5 days with a heartbeat also of 111.  You heard that right, people: TWINS!!

The house.  The cars.  The bank account.  Suddenly, everything SEEMS. SO. SMALL.   And speaking of small, the kiddles are about the size of a grain of rice, they tell me. I am very well aware of the fact that we are not out of the woods.  In fact, I thought that this ultrasound at 6 weeks would provide some peace of mind.  And it did/does.  For like FIVE MINUTES.  Because then I’m on to worrying about the little ones continuing to develop until the NEXT ultrasound in two more weeks.  I’ve got to figure out a way to let my excitement exceed my caution.  Or maybe I shouldn’t.  I don’t know.  I’m in Risk Management, for crying out loud, I guess it’s just part of my nature.  BUT…we are incredibly grateful and blessed for the miracles we have RIGHT NOW.  And we are so grateful and blessed and thankful for the support of our family and friends – those in the flesh and in the cyber world.  Because now, more than ever, we believe it will absolutely take a village. 

