That’s one of the things about trying-to-conceive (TTC): you become desensitized to appropriate, acceptable behaviors.   As many appointments as I have had, it’s no wonder I don’t just leave garments from the waist down in the car.  Monday, I had an appointment with the dermatologist at 3pm.  I had a teleconference scheduled for 4:30 pm and intended to take it from the car, on my way to the park to run.  But in order to maximize efficiency, I needed to get into my workout gear before I left the dermatologist.  After examining a spot on my SHIN, Dr. Firm Handshake began writing notes in my chart and talking with the nurse when, without thinking, I started taking my clothes off.  Not exactly what the dermatologist was expecting at the conclusion of an appointment, I guess.

The thing is, TTC creates this Pavlovian effect in doctor’s offices:  See Exam Table, Remove Clothing. 

Which got me thinking…besides flashing, how else has TTC changed me or altered my life?   Especially since we’ve been trying for a YEAR.  And here were a couple things I could come up with right off the top of my head (this list is not exhaustive): 

  • I’ve gained 10 lbs due to lack of exercise–lack due to both voluntary (I’m too tired, lazy, portioncontrolitis, etc) to involuntary (side effects of hormones, required rest post procedures, surgery, etc)
  • I started comparing stirrups at the OB/GYN and Reproductive Endocrinologist offices.  I know.  It’s weird for me, too.
  • I started this blog. 
  • I got my first ever speeding ticket, incidentally, on my way for an ultrasound.
  • My medicine cabinet now also fills two shelves of the linen closet.
  • I know what the inside of my uterus looks like and I know the distance from my cervix to the back of the uterine wall.  What’s your superpower?
  • I’ve learned more reproductive medicine than I care to remember, and I didn’t even sleep at a Holiday Inn Express.
  • I take happy pills now and I feel better.  And so do those around me. 
  • There is a sharps container next to the Kitchen Aid mixer. 
  • I know the names of the phlebotomists’ children, at two different labs. 
  • Advertisements