ON WITNESSING THE BIRTH OF MY NIECE:

[me] I imagine EVERYONE is going to want to be around you & Emily when she is born. Of course, I’d secretly like to be there for the birth. Truth is, I’ll be there whenever you want me there. So think about it and let me know.

[sister] I’m pretty sure that I’m going to want O, Mom, Terry and you in the room but when it comes down to it…I may be too Exorcist/Tourette’s-like to want anyone in the room. You never know!

ON PHOTOGRAPHING THE MOMENTOUS EVENT:

[me] You will HAVE to let me take pictures, millions of them. I promise to be discreet. I want you to call me when you go into labor so I can drive to San Antonio from here. I’ll have a bag in the car. Don’t go off Braxton-Hicks-ing, though, gas is expensive. Heard Emily dropped.

[sister] After dropping things are starting to hurt. Yesterday my back pain was so bad that I sounded like a sailor all day long. By the time I got home I just wanted to sleep. I will definitely call you when I go into labor. Pictures…I’ll have to think about that one. I mean…you can take a ton of Emily, the family, etc but my “cookie” will not be captured on film.

[me] No “cookie’s”. Promise.

[sister] Then snap away sista, snap away.

