What with all my spontaneous weeping and my frequent attacks of I-don’t-want-to-be-around-people, I started taking a low dose of antidepressants on January 26. And OH. MY. GOD! If only I had surrendered to the idea months before, those months would have progressed differently. Or at least I would have responded to events over those months differently. But whatever. I’m on ’em now and they are absolutely WONDERFUL! I look forward to taking my 10mg each evening like it was a chocolate cake and a tall glass of ice cold milk. Like sitting down to watch my favorite TV show. Like getting to go to bed early. Or getting to sleep in. And speaking of favorite TV shows, I LOVE AMERICAN IDOL! I have no shame in that. I have watched every episode from the first season, before it was popular. Last year, for my birthday, I asked for (and received) an American Idol t-shirt (although my partner won’t let me wear it out of the house). I actually cried when my DVR machine tilted and I lost my Season 4 recording of Anwar Robinson’s a cappella rendition of “It’s A Wonderful World”. Seriously. And I’m 32. No shame.

