Dramatics are typically reserved for the Beloved’s family (don’t y’all go getting all upset about that – you know it’s true!), but my own Mother is giving them a run. Case in point:

me: “Mom, I was thinking maybe we should get a second pack-n-play, what do you think?”

mom: “Why?”

me: “Well, because the one we have is in our bedroom, and since the babies will be sleeping a lot, and because I don’t want to be cooped up in the bedroom, and because I don’t want to have to make up the bed every day, and because I don’t want visitors streaming into the bedroom, and because I don’t want to have to break it down and set it back up every day, I figured we could have one in the living room where the babies could nap, you know, change of scenery.”

mom: “Well, if you do that, buy it at a consignment store.”

me: “Oh, there is someone in my mothers-of-multiples group selling one for $35, so we’d do that if we got a second one.”

mom: “You could also just make a pallet on the floor. OH, BUT WAIT. THE DOGS.”

me: “What about them?”

mom: “Well, the dogs might chew the babies’ hands and feet off.” (clearly referring to this story).

